Susie Susilawati awarded Faculty of Engineering ‘Quality of Student Experience Award’

At the 10th Annual Celebrating Engineering Excellence Awards, our very own Susie was awarded the Faculty’s Quality of Student Experience Award.

  • Left to right: Professor Ramin Farnood, Professor Grant Allen, Dean Cristina Amon, Professor Will Cluett, Endang (Susie) Susilawati, Pauline Martini, Professor Greg Evans, Professor Christopher Yip at Celebrating Engineering Excellence 2017 (Photo: Roberta Baker)

Quality of Student Experience Award – Endang (Susie) Susilawati
This award recognizes a staff member who has made significant contributions to the quality of student experience in the Faculty. Susie Susilawati is the Lab Manager for BioZone, home to approximately 80 graduate students and postdoctoral fellows. She works tirelessly to ensure that the BioZone labs run smoothly and safely so that students have an outstanding research experience, and consistently seeks student feedback on how the labs can best meet their needs. However, Susie’s contributions to the student experience go far beyond her official role – since joining BioZone in 2009 she has made it her mission to create an exceptional sense of community, making sure that every student feels welcome and connected. Susie takes the time to get to know each of BioZone’s students and ensures that they get to know each other. She is the first person students seek out when they need assistance of any kind. Susie plans and hosts community-building events such as a weekly informal social and monthly birthday celebrations, and encourages all BioZone members to get involved. Her efforts have been instrumental in creating a cohesive student community within this unique centre.
Other award winners include:Agnes Kaneko Citizenship Award – Joan DaCosta (UTIAS)

Research Leader Award – Greg Evans (ChemE)

Quality of Student Experience Award- Cori Hanson (Office of the Registrar)

Innovation Award – Pauline Martini (ChemE)

Harpreet Dhariwal Emerging Leader Award –Andrey Shukalyuk (IBBME)

See full more information about the awards here: Posted April 27th, 2017 by Carolyn Farrell (

©2022 Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering